Andrew Carnell, David Fox, '89 RNC Lakeshore Homes crew to be inducted next week

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Royal St. John's Regatta Hall of Fame

With race day under three weeks away, the Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee is set induct three new members into their ranks.

The list of 2010 inductees include former mayor Andrew Carnell and rower turned rule maker David Fox in the builder category, and the record-setting 1989 RNC Lakeshore Homes.

The induction ceremony will take place during a luncheon hosted by the City of St. John’s Wednesday, July 28 at noon.

Andrew Carnell

As mayor of St. John’s during the 1930s, Carnell witnessed an inequity between clubs on the water. Some clubs operating lakeside owned boathouses and shells far superior to others, creating an uneven field on race day.

The mayor appointed a self-perpetuating committee of 50 prominent citizens that would govern rowing operations at Quidi Vidi and arranged for the purchase of the existing boathouse and racing shells. The move granted the committee the authority to decide on the date of the Regatta and the right to declare a municipal holiday.

Later, he played a role in the committee obtaining the rights to the land where today’s facilities are located.

David Fox

The St. Bon’s rower won amateur championship races in 1954, ‘56, ‘57, and ‘58 and the men’s championship in 1957. After stepping out of the shell, Fox turned his attention to conducting races and developing a set of rules and regulations.

In 1983, Fox and his committee abolished the old system whereby elimination races were held before Regatta day to limit the number of crews. In its place, Fox helped introduce the time trials system that allowed every crew the opportunity to row, against crews of equal calibre on race day.

Fox is also credited as the original author of the Regatta rule book.

1989 RNC-Lakeshore Homes Crew

A training and condition program designed to deliver results didn’t disappoint as the crew spun to three victories and a pair of record times in 1989.

In the men’s amateur race, the Bill Hickey-coxed crew set a course record with a 9:00.96. After taking the men’s service race by one second, the team turned in a 9:01.14 in the championship race, seven full seconds ahead of second place.

Members of the crew were: Campbell Feehan (stroke), Gerard Ryan, Albert Gibbons, Brian Cranford, Bill Howell, Jim Carroll, Mike Power (coach and Richard “Dick” Carroll (manager).

Organizations: St John's

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Donna Carroll-Kelly
    July 30, 2010 - 16:28

    Congratulations to the 1989 RNC Lakeshore Homes Crew on being inducted to the Royal St John's Regatta Hall of Fame. A very special greeting to my dear Dad Dick Carroll and my cousin Jim Carroll. We are your proud family! Love Donna Carrol-Kelly and Paul Kelly London England

  • Tom Kinsella
    July 23, 2010 - 03:41

    A special congrats to the 1989 RNC-Lakeshore Homes Crew, many of which I have known for a long time. They worked extremely hard to accomplish this feat and were well deserving of such a stand-up victory. Hats off to you boys…TK