Dugas claims silver in 200-metre final

Kenn Oliver
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Team Newfoundland and Labrador collected its second medal at the Canada Summer Games Friday when Chris Dugas finished third in the men's Special Olympics 200-metre A Final.
At the University of Sherbrooke track and field stadium, the Kippens sprinter turned in a time of 26.19 seconds to claim bronze.

It's the first medal for Team NL since swimmer Owen Daly won silver in the 50m butterfly event on the second day of the Games.

Dugas, 24, will have a chance to medal again at the 2017 Games in Manitoba as the cutoff age for Special Olympics athletes is 30.

In other athletics results, Daniel Kelloway finished third in the 200m B Final, Darcy Buckingham placed seventh in both the 200M B Final and the women's high jump. In the latter, Sara Cheema was right behind her in eighth.

William Forsey took sixth in the 800m B Final, and Floressa Harris was sixth in the women's Special Olympics 200M B Final.

Jillian Forsey raced in 5,000-metre event Friday night, however results were not available before Telegram press deadline.

Also not available were the 4x400m B finals, male and female, and Shaughnessy O'Driscoll's results from women's javelin.

At Lac Magog, site of this week's rowing competition, the women's eight finished sixth in the A Final, well back of the pack with a time of 6 minutes and 46.67 seconds.

The men's team row in their A Final today.

In consolation finals, the women's pair were first, men's single competitor Colin Pike finished second, as did the men's quad, the men's lightweight, and the men's pair.

The women's quad were third.

Rosie Stanoev drained a team 23 points - 12 from beyond the arc - to lead Team NL to a 64-53 win over Prince Edward Island Friday. Janet Lee added 10 points.

The win, the team's first at the Games, secured a seventh place finish.

At the University of Sherbrooke's sports centre, Riley Crane finished 17th in the men's one-metre springboard and did not move on to the men's final.

Teammates Liam Maher (18th), Chris Kent (21st), and Quinn Crane (23rd) also failed to advance, as did Molly Wilson, who was 22nd in the women's three-metre event.

Team NL's Marty Whelan, Peter Gregory and Nathan Wilson finished seventh in the men's relay, while the female team of Emily McIlroy, Rebecca O'Leary, and Olivia Smith placed ninth.

Four of the six will compete in mixed relay today.


Official results were not available before the Telegram's press deadline.

Organizations: Special Olympics 200M B Final.Jillian Forsey, Telegram press, University of Sherbrooke

Geographic location: Manitoba, Prince Edward Island

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page