Top News

Making wishes come true from Newfoundland convenience stores

A few familiar faces can be found behind the counter in convenience stores around Newfoundland today, taking donations for Children’s Wish Foundation of Canada.

The annual C-Store Day gets community leaders to work 15-minute shifts at participating stores. Across Canada, it has raised more than $183,000 for Children’s Wish since 2012.

Local leaders taking part this year include a number of provincial politicians: Humber-Bay of Islands MHA Eddie Joyce, Burgeo-La Poile MHA Andrew Parsons, Bonavista MHA Neil King, Mount Pearl-Southlands MHA Paul Lane, St. John’s West MHA Siobhán Coady, Mount Pearl North MHA Steve Kent and Waterford Valley MHA Tom Osborne.

On the municipal level, several community leaders are taking part. From Corner Brook, Deputy Mayor Bernd Staeben, Mayor Charles Pender will participate. Channel-Port aux Basques Coun. Charlene Blackmore will also pitch in. Several Gander council members will take part, including Deputy Mayor Cyril Abbott, Coun. Rob Anstey and Coun. Sarah McBreairty.

Conception Bay South Couns. Gerard Tilley and Richard Murphy are doing their part.

Members of St. John’s city council will make an appearance, too, including Mayor Dennis O’Keefe and Couns. Danny Breen, Sandy Hickman, Sheilagh O’Leary and Tom Hann.

MP Scott Simms’ constituency assistant Kevin Higgins will also take part.

Participating stores include:

·      Needs, 4 First St., Mount Pearl

·      Orangestore, 230 Confederation Highway, Bonavista

·      Orangestore, 356 O’Connell Dr., Corner Brook

·      Circle K, 32 Frecker Dr., St. John’s

·      Orangestore, 100 Trans-Canada Highway, Kelligrews

·      Orangestore, 20 High St., Port aux Basques

·      Orangestore, 2 Great Southern Dr., St. John’s

·      Orangestore, 405-407 Main St., Summerside

Recent Stories