Queens Counsel appointments announced

Staff ~ The Telegram editor@thetelegram.com
Published on February 5, 2010

Justice Minister Felix Collins today announced appointments to Queen's counsel by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.
Those appointed to Queen's counsel are: F. Geoffrey Aylward, Lisa A. Byrne, Michael J. Crosbie, Calvin L. Lake, James E. Maher, Heather L.C. Mills, Robert P. Pittman, Terrance G. Rowe, and Graham A. Wells.
"The appointment as Queen's counsel is a prestigious honour which recognizes lawyers who have demonstrated a devotion to the legal profession in Newfoundland and Labrador," Collins said. "Those appointed this year exemplify the qualities of Queen's counsel such as professionalism and dedication and I congratulate them on their appointment."
Queen's counsel comprises senior barristers who have served a minimum of 10 years in the legal profession, have gained the respect of the legal community and who are in good standing with the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador. Appointments are made on the recommendation of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General after consultation with the Legal Appointments Board as outlined in the Queen's Counsel Act.