Order of Newfoundland and Labrador recipients named

Published on October 4, 2012

Eight people in this province have been chosen for induction into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Lt.-Gov. John Crosbie, chancellor of the Order, announced the names today.

This year’s recipients and the reasons they were selected are as follows:

• Janet Cox, R.N., S.C.M. — Her efforts in the area of hereditary colon cancer have touched numerous lives. A caring and selfless professional whose utmost concern is for her patients, her contributions have made a significant impact on the enhancement of the health of the people of Newfoundland and Labrador;

• Tom Dawe, C.M., M.A. — His work as a poet, educator, visual artist, editor, and writer has profoundly enriched the cultural landscape of this province. Dawe’s work generates attention and respect provincially, nationally and internationally. He has been called a mentor, a remarkable cultural ambassador and one of the most authentic voices of and for Newfoundland and Labrador;

• Freida Gabrielle Faour — Through her work as a municipal leader and community volunteer, Faour’s dedication to Newfoundland and Labrador has always been evident in her personal and professional life. A lifelong resident of Corner Brook, she is a dedicated and inspiring community leader whose impact on our province crosses the sectors of education, music and arts, municipal politics, environmentalism and family living;

 • John C. (Jack) Ford — His biography, “The Jack Ford Story: Newfoundland’s POW in Nagasaki,” is an amazing story of endurance, courage and survival during World War II in Japan. A witness to the Nagasaki atomic bomb, Ford continues to tell his story to school and other groups to condemn the use of nuclear weapons and advocate for world peace.

 • Mary Dyer Gordon, C.M. — Recognized internationally as an educator, best-selling author, child advocate and parenting expert, Mary Gordon is the founder of Roots of Empathy, an award-winning program about the power of empathy that has touched countless lives. Thousands of children around the world have benefited from this program which is designed to build caring, peaceful and civil societies through the development of empathy in children and adults;

 • Constance Howley, R.N., N.P. — A cornerstone of care, treatment, advocacy and support for people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS in Newfoundland and Labrador, Constance Howley has been called a pioneer, a visionary and a leader. Her contributions in the fields of nursing, research and community-based organizing have touched the lives of hundreds of men, women and children in this province and beyond.

• Capt. Sidney J. Hynes, M.M., F.N.I. — Hynes’ demonstrated excellence as a marine industry leader has brought significant social and economic benefit to this province. His outstanding contribution as a pioneer and innovator in the development and evolution of the industry is without parallel. Hynes’ impressive record of achievement reflects a true professionalism and the best personal qualities which have earned him the utmost respect;

 • Susan Frances (Fran) Williams — From her first vocation as a nurse to her term as leader of the Labrador Inuit Association, from her pioneering leadership in founding the OKalaKatiget Society to her work as a member of the Nain Crisis Response Team, Susan (Fran) Williams has lived a life committed to supporting the health and identity of her community.

 “These individuals exemplify the strengths, talent and determination of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians,” said Crosbie. “It will be my great honour to bestow the Order upon each of them in order to recognize their tremendous and lifelong efforts.”

 The investiture ceremony will take place at Government House in St. John’s on Tuesday, Oct. 16.

 “There is no doubt that this year’s inductees are all visionaries and leaders in their fields,” said Premier Kathy Dunderdale. “Each and every recipient truly reflects the spirit of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador. Their passion has made them leaders in building the strong, proud and caring communities which characterize Newfoundland and Labrador today.”

 The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador is the highest honour of the province and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavor benefitting the province and its residents in an outstanding manner. The first investiture took place in 2004.

 Nominations for the next induction into the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador may be made until Jan. 31, 2013. 

Any person or group may nominate an individual for recognition by the Order. The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador advisory council selects members to be invested into the Order after considering all nominations received.