New MUN Board of Regents chairwoman named

Published on February 14, 2013
Iris Petten. — Memorial University of Newfoundland photo

Joan Shea, minister of advanced education and skills, has announced the appointment of Iris Petten as chairwoman of the Memorial University Board of Regents.

Petten replaces Robert Simmonds, who was appointed as board chairman in 2008.

Petten is a Memorial University alumnus and has extensive experience as a corporate board member and volunteer within private, publicly traded, crown and non-profit corporations. She also has more than 20 years experience in the fishing industry.

 “I am pleased Ms. Petten has accepted the appointment of chair of the Memorial University Board of Regents,” said Shea. “Ms. Petten’s proven leadership and dedication will ensure high quality post-secondary education, enhance employment prospects for graduates, and help secure the greatest benefits from our economic opportunities. I would also like to recognize Robert Simmonds, who provided exemplary service to the board.”

 The following members of the Board of Regents have been re-appointed for a second three-year term: Sheila Ashton, Patsy Coish-Snow, Mary Cormier, Brian Dalton, Michelle Daye, James Keating, William Matthews, Vinod Patel, Anthony Roche and Kathleen Roul.

 The Memorial University Board of Regents, along with Memorial University’s Senate, is responsible for all matters related to programming, qualifications of employees and all other matters deemed to be in the best interest of the institution.

The Board of Regents consists of 30 members, including 17 general members appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, three joint Memorial University and College of the North Atlantic representatives, six members elected by the Alumni Association, and four student members.