Former NHL stars raise the bar at police benefit hockey game

Published on April 5, 2013
Former NHLer Guy Carbonneau jumps over the boards at Mile One Centre Thursday night as a member of the Celebrity All Stars team that took on the Police All Stars in a charity hockey game. — Photo by Joe Gibbons/The Telegram

After all the antics and troublemaking, good laughs, a shoot-out and some actual hockey playing, the Newfoundland and Labrador Police All-Stars and the Newfoundland and Labrador Celebrity All-Stars settled nothing in a 7-7 tie before a crowd at Mile One Centre in St. John’s Thursday night.

The Celebrity All-Stars thought they had the advantage with the addition of a couple of ringers — former NHLers Guy Carbonneau and Gaston Gingras.

The police team, however, arrested that move by icing a tactical team of excellent hockey players.

CLICK HERE for photo slideshow.

CLICK HERE for video.

The real winners in this 18th annual Children’s Charity Benefit Hockey Game, organized by the Newfoundland and Labrador Police Curling Association, were the NL Autism Society, the NL Tourette Syndrome Foundation and the NL Lion’s Quest School Program. Each group received a donation of $2,500.

In fact, over the years this annual event has raised more than $175,000 to help children’s charities in the province.


Members of the Newfoundland and Labrador Police All Stars included:

Grant Harvey in goal, RNC; Sean Tipple in goal, RCMP; Jim Carroll, RNC; Mac Tucker, RNC; Brian Cook, RNC; Todd Barron, RNC; Jamie Kennedy, RNC; Dave Hickey, RCMP; Lee Lush, RCMP; Jason Greene, RCMP; Wayne Pomeroy, RCMP; Charlie Babstock, RCMP; Steve Curnew, RNC; Gary Collins, RCMP; Nick Cashin, RNC; Daniel Cadigan, RNC; and Steve Walsh, RNC.


Members of the Newfoundland and Labrador Celebrity All-Stars Thursday night included:

Former NHLer Guy Carbonneau; former NHLer Gaston Gingras; former Canadian Idol Star Rex Goudie in goal; Glenn Andrews of NTV in goal; Glen Whiffen, The Telegram; Steve Callahan, media alumni and hockey scout; Donnie Decker, NTV; Brian Matthews, VOAR; Paul Pickett, CBC; Philippe Grenier, CBC; Dave Salter, St. John’s IceCaps; Chris Batstone, K-Rock; Kevin Parsons, MHA; Fred Hutton, NTV; Mark Dwyer, Herald/NTV; Jonathan Crowe, CBC; Ryan Snodden, CBC; and general manager Bruce Tobin.