Squirt rowers make it official: They’re here to stay

Under-12 competitors get their reward; a tough DQ for juvenile crew

Staff ~ The Telegram editor@thetelegram.com
Published on August 2, 2012
Krista Carew of the Roebothan McKay Marshall crew and Brent Payne of Toyota Plaza were named oarswoman and oarsman of the year for the 2012 Royal St. John’s Regatta. —Photo by Joe Gibbons/The Telegram

After rowing on an exhibition basis last year, squirt crews were given a place in the 2012 Royal St. John’s Regatta program and were presented with trophies at this year’s event.

Dunville’s Tony Woodman steered his Harold Hotel crew of stroke Abigail Gambin, Mackenzie Leonard Power, Lauren Kelly, Gracie Follett, Hillary Neville and Mackenzie Wakeham to the fastest time in the Pennecon female race with a 2:43.32.

“They never rowed before, but they caught on quick,” Woodman says of his team of 10-, 11- and 12-year-old girls from Placentia.

“They’re all very athletic anyhow, being involved in basketball and softball.

“They’re easier to train than the boys, actually. They listen. The boys are sort of all over the place.”

Woodman’s team also won its race in the Placentia Regatta.

In the boys’ Pennecon Paul Ring squirt race, it was kismet as the Pennecon Boys crew of Nathan Parrell, Ryan King, Michael Tilley, Matthew Field, Jacob Manning, Conor Kavanagh, spare Matthew King and coxswain Paul Ring claimed the Paul Ring Trophy with a time of 2:44.72.


There were no collisions between shells on the Quidi Vidi this Regatta Day, but there was one disqualification.

In the female juvenile race, which was Race No. 19 on the day and one combined to also serve as a race for male juvenile and male midget crews, the Maximum Contracting team was disqualified for finishing in the wrong stake.

The Harbour Grace-based team, coxed by Lenny Williams started in Stake 2, but after the turn, finished in Lane 1. Unfortunately, that lane was being used by the only male juvenile crew in the race, Marquise Heavy Equipment. While Marquise was only making its turn at the men’s kegs as Maximum crossed the finish line first, finishing in a different stake is an automatic DQ.

The race was instead awarded to Herbal Magic.

Not only was the Maximum crew denied a first-place finish, the crewmembers didn’t even get finishers medals, because officially, they had not finished. Race officials later said they felt bad about how things worked out, but that rules are rules.


The male and female oarsman and woman of the year went to Toyota Plaza No. 1 oar Brent Payne and Krista Carew, who rowed No.2 for the female championship Roebothan, McKay, Marshall Team.

The Lieutenant Governor’s Cup and P.J. Thompson Memorial Trophy, the male and female fastest crews on Regatta Day, went to the two winning teams, Rogers Bussey and Roebothan, McKay, Marshall.

Gord Delaney, who steered Roebothan, McKay, Marshall, won the Gert Reardigan Trophy for the cox of a female crew with the fastest time, while Ben Colbourne of Rogers Bussey took home the Ned Tilley Memorial Trophy as cox of the fastest male crew.

The Levi ‘Shotty’ Rogers Memorial Trophy went to Colbourne, who scored the most aggregate points.