Fewer, Bazeley 2014 Tely 10 champions

Published on July 27, 2014

Colin Fewer and Kate Vaughan Bazeley are once again Tely 10 champions.

Fewer’s victory Sunday morning in St. John’s was his eighth Tely 10 title, leaving him one short of Pat Kelly’s record nine wins. His unofficial time was 50:50.

For Bazeley, it was her third women’s title. Her unofficial time of 55:54 is the second fastest finish ever for a female in the Tely 10, only 10 seconds behind Nicola Will’s record-setting time from 1986.

Reigning champion Daniel McNeil placed second, coming in just over a minute after Fewer finished the race. In third place was Lee McCarron, followed David Freake in fourth and Peter Power in fifth. Power’s unofficial time of 54:05 beats his previous record for the 50-54-age category set in 2013.

Rounding out the top five finishers in the women’s race were Julia Kawamoto in second, Caroline McIlroy in third, Alison Walsh in fourth, and Jennifer Murrin in fifth.

Close to 4,200 people were registered to compete in Sunday’s race, the 87th annual edition.