Cricket NL finishes third at Atlantic tourney

Telegram Sports
Published on August 3, 2014

Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador’s Hari Raghmaran bats against Quebec at the Atlantic T20 Tournament in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on Saturday. The former team Nova Scotia captain scored 59 runs in the loss. The squad finished third overall.

©— Photo courtesy Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador

Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador won a bronze medal at the Atlantic T20 cricket tournament over the weekend in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.
The local team had wins over the host province and New Brunswick, and losses to Quebec (the eventual champions) and Nova Scotia.

Injuries and work commitments meant the original provincial squad was depleted, but the late addition of Hari Raghumaran (former Nova Scotia team captain) proved beneficial as he made a major contribution to the team’s success.

The team got off to a good start on Friday with a comprehensive win over P.E.I., putting up a provincial record total of 242/5, with Rakesh Negi, Rahul Vashisht and Hari Raghuraman all making half centuries. P.E.I. were bowled out for 127 in 19.3 overs, Hummam taking three wickets, Saravana Kumar and Rahul Vashisht taking two each.

The Newfoundland battled hard against a strong Quebec squad in Friday’s second match, just failing to chase down Quebec’s 179/4 total. Vashisht and Raghuraman again contributed half centuries but the team fell 20 runs short.

Saturday saw Newfoundland lose by the closest of margins to last year’s champions from Nova Scotia. Hari Raghumaran made 68 as Newfoundland made 166/5. They looked to have the match all but won as Nova Scotia lost five of their top batsmen for only 50 runs. They were unable to press home their advantage and Nova Scotia hit the winning runs of the fifth ball of the last over.

The tournament concluded on Sunday where after restricting New Brunswick to 133/6 the team chased down the total with four wickets in hand.

Quebec were crowned champions, winning all their games and Nova Scotia was runner-up.