Newfoundlanders find the podium at Eastern Canadians

Two team silver medals, individual all-around bronze a first for province

Published on May 13, 2013
Newfoundland gymnast Allison Moore goes through her floor routine at the 2013 Oceanex Eastern Canadian Gymnastics Championship at the Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Centre on Saturday. For the first time in provincial history, the Newfoundland team won two team silver medals - one in Level 4 novice and another in Level 1 trampoline - and an individual all-around bronze with and Jeannie Weir finishing third overall in the Level 4 open division.
— Photo by Keith Gosse/The Telegram

Newfoundland enjoyed two firsts at the 2013 Oceanex Eastern Canadian gymnastics championship Friday and Saturday at the Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Centre in St. John's.

Two teams from this province won team silver medals, and Jeannie Weir of Foxtrap became the first Newfoundlander to land on the all around podium.

The Level 4 novice team of Allison Collins, Erin McGettigan, Samantha Hallett and Rebecca Squires placed second along with the Level 1 trampoline team which consists of Kassidy Slaney, Rachel Rideout, Nicole Pittman and Laura Connolly.

Weir was third overall in the provincial Level 4 Open competition, and also placed third on Open 4 floor.

Squires won a silver medal on vault in novice Level 4, and placed sixth overall, while McGettigan won bronze on bars in novice Level 4, placing seventh overall.

In other individual results, Abbey Dolomount won silver in vault in the Tyro Level 4 (finishing seventh overall), and Erica Devereaux won bronze on bars in the national Open category (11th). Liam Jackman placed third on vault in Level 4 13-plus, finishing 11th overall.

The Tyro 4 team (Dolomount, Maggie Gill and Jillian Hutchings) finished third of three teams.

Some 50 gymnasts from Newfoundland joined competitors from Nova Scotia, P.E.I., New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec in the two-day meet. Clubs representing Newfoundland were the Cygnus club from St. John's, Campia from Mount Pearl, Airials club from Gander and Corner Brook's Saltos Gymnastics Club.

Team Newfoundland and Labrador:

Trampoline and tumbling

Abby Roul

Kassidy Slaney

Laura Connolly

Nicole Pittman

Rachel Rideout

Women's artistic

Allison Moore

Hayley Crosbie

Grace Druken

Jessica Simpson

Natalie Stone-McLean

Kelsie Dillon

Renee Devereaux

Niamh Molloy

Lauren Mills

Abbie Rowe

Sarah Kennedy

Sarah Carew

Rebecca Squires

Erin McGettigan

Allison Collins

Samantha Hallett

Jeannie Weir

Emily Walker

Ashley Stockley

Rachel Sorensen

Jillian Hutchings

Abbey Dolomount

Maggie Gill

Erica Devereaux

Men's artistic

Connor Milks

Carter Fridgen

Mitchell McCarthy

Daniel Dyer

Zachary Gosse

Joshua Battcock

Zachery Brophy

Zachary Cook

Gabriel Sorensen

Michael Drover

Brett Mercer

Liam Jackman