Top News

Air Canada indefinitely discontinues 30 regional routes; seven involve Newfoundland and Labrador

Deer Lake Regional Airport
Two of the routes affected by Air Canada's decision will impact Deer Lake Regional Airport. — SaltWire Network file photo

Six of the seven are for runs within the province; the airline is also closing its station in Wabush

Seven routes involving Newfoundland and Labrador are among those affected by Air Canada's announcement Tuesday that it is suspending indefinitely service on 30 domestic routes.

Six of the seven routes associated with N.L. are for travel within the province. The other is the run from Wabush in Labrador to Sept Iles, Que.

As well, Air Canada will be closing eight stations at regional airports in the country, including the one in Wabush.

The airline said in a statement that it was making the cuts because of continuing weak demand for business and leisure travel during the coronavirus pandemic. Travel restrictions and border closures by governments have also decreased the prospects for recovery.

Air Canada expects the air industry’s recovery from the pandemic to take at least three years, and said it would be considering other changes to its network and schedule, as well as further service suspensions in the coming weeks to cut costs.

The full national list of suspended routes and closed stations

Newfoundland and Labrador/Maritimes

  • Deer Lake-Goose Bay;

  • Deer Lake-St. John’s;

  • Fredericton-Halifax;

  • Fredericton-Ottawa;

  • Moncton-Halifax;

  • Saint John-Halifax;

  • Charlottetown-Halifax;

  • Moncton-Ottawa;

  • Gander-Goose Bay;

  • Gander-St. John’s;

  • Bathurst-Montreal;

  • Wabush-Goose Bay;

  • Wabush-Sept-Iles;

  • Goose Bay-St. John’s.

Air Canada is also closing its stations at these regional airports:

  • Bathurst (New Brunswick)

  • Wabush (Newfoundland and Labrador)

  • Gaspé (Quebec)

  • Baie Comeau (Quebec)

  • Mont Joli (Quebec)

  • Val d’Or (Quebec)

  • Kingston (Ontario)

  • North Bay (Ontario)


Quebec and Ontario

  • Baie Comeau-Montreal;

  • Baie Comeau-Mont Joli;

  • Gaspé-Iles de la Madeleine;

  • Gaspé-Quebec City;

  • Sept-Iles-Quebec City;

  • Val d’Or-Montreal;

  • Mont Joli-Montreal;

  • Rouyn-Noranda-Val d’Or;

  • Kingston-Toronto;

  • London-Ottawa;

  • North Bay-Toronto

  • Windsor-Montreal

Western Canada

  • Regina-Winnipeg;

  • Regina-Saskatoon;

  • Regina-Ottawa;

  • Saskatoon-Ottawa.

With files from The Telegram

Did this story inform or enhance your perspective on this subject?
1 being least likely, and 10 being most likely

Recent Stories