Top News

Students rewarded for theatre excellence at western regional drama fest in Springdale

SPRINGDALE, NL — Corner Brook Regional High was named best overall production at the Western Regional Drama Festival 2018 held in Springdale last week.

Dave Anthony adjudicated this year’s festival held at Indian River High and selected the Corner Brook Regional Drama Club to represent the region at the provincial drama festival to be held in Clarenville in May. The Corner Brook students performed “The Insanity of Mary Girard” by Lanie Robertson.

Clair Beck of Corner Brook was selected the best actor (female) for her portrayal of Mary Girard, while the best director award went to Corner Brook’s Paula Grudich. James Squires of Pasadena Academy was selected the best actor (male) for his role as Austin in the play “The Other Room.”

Also receiving awards of distinction were:

For acting, Casey Lush and Seonaid Stark of Xavier Junior High of Deer Lake; Vinn Elliott, Jade Mackey, Mark Quilty and Logan Dwyer of Corner Brook; Samantha Stuckless and Chelsea Greenham of Copper Ridge Academy of Baie Verte; Mackenzie Tapp, Emily Park, and Delaney Rumbolt of Pasadena Academy; Jared Osbourne, Jesse James, Maria Lawlor, and Cody King of Indian River High; Keish Bowers and Melisa Adali of Valmont Academy in King’s Point; and Aaron Hingston and Alex Katiforis of Gros Morne Academy in Rocky Harbour.

For directing, Jan Stephen of Pasadena Academy.

For lights, Anna Hansen-Robitschek and Haley Hillier (for lights and sound) of Corner Brook, Anthony Clarke of Pasadena Academy, and Ocean-Lee Grandy of Copper Ridge for lighting and makeup.

For costume design, Jalen Saunders of Corner Brook, Indian River High, and the Gros Morne Academy.

For props, Gros Morne Academy, Kelsey Budgell of Valmont Academy, and Copper Ridge Academy.

For set design, Pasadena Academy, Indian River High, Valmont Academy, and Gros Morne Academy.

For sound, Matthew Smith (for tech and sound) of Gros Morne Academy, Claudia Lilly of Indian River High, and Leah Osmond of Pasadena Academy.

A choral award also went to Valmont Academy.

Recent Stories