Top News

N.L.’s Dr. Lynette Powell wins national award

Dr. Lynette Powell
Dr. Lynette Powell - Submitted

Family medicine leaders committed to supporting high-quality care

A doctor from this province was honoured Friday night as a national award winner.

Dr. Lynette Powell of Grand Falls-Windsor has been named one of 10 winners of the Reg. L Perkin award as a 2017 Family Physicians of the Year winner.

She received the Perkin award at the College of Family Physicians of Canada’s (CFPC) annual awards gala in Montreal on Friday.

The CFPC gives this award annually to 10 dedicated family doctors across the country who provide exceptional care to their patients, contribute to the wellbeing of their communities and demonstrate leadership in family medicine education and research.
“We commend this year’s award recipients for their enduring efforts to promote high-quality patient care, provide leadership in their home communities, and support the future of family medicine through education and mentorship,” CFPC president David White said in a news release.
“The passion and commitment they bring to the profession of family medicine are an inspiration to their peers and to the next generation of family doctors.”
The event takes place as part of the Family Medicine Forum, which runs from Nov. 8-11 in conjunction with Family Doctor Week in Canada, whose celebrations take place Nov. 6-11.

“We are proud to recognize the many accomplishments of the 2017 Family Physicians of the Year. In addition to the excellent patient care they provide, they each make unique and valued contributions to their communities,” CFPC executive director and CEO Francine Lemire said in the release.
“Their professional accomplishments include providing palliative care, adopting the Patient’s Medical Home and team-based practice models, mentoring medical students, advocating for improved mental health supports, and serving rural and Indigenous communities.”

Recent Stories