Top News

Derm Flynn appointed as chair of Multi-Materials Stewardship board

Appleton mayor Derm Flynn
Derm Flynn - SaltWire Network

The provincial government has appointed Derm Flynn as chairperson of the board of directors of the Multi-Materials Stewardship Board.

The appointment was made through the merit-based appointment process established by the Independent Appointments Commission Act and is effective immediately.

“Mr. Flynn will bring valuable knowledge and experience to the role of chair,” said Municipal Affairs and Environment Minister Graham Letto. “I’d like to welcome him to the position and to thank the board for their ongoing work in coordinating waste diversion and educational programs in support of the protection of the environment.”

Flynn spent 32 years in municipal government – eight years as mayor and deputy mayor of Wabush and 24 years as mayor and deputy mayor of Appleton. Flynn has been a member of the board of directors for the Multi-Materials Stewardship Board since 2003. He was the president of the Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador from 1999 to 2000 and was chair of the Waste Management Advisory Committee which informed the development of the Provincial Solid Waste Management Strategy.

Flynn moved to Appleton in 1991 and has been keen to find new ideas to benefit his town. Under his leadership, Appleton has improved the ecosystem of the Gander River with the successful construction and implementation of an Abydoz Wetland Treatment Facility in 2006-07 which has won numerous awards for its treatment levels, innovative design and its green method of treatment. Flynn has also been involved with the Provincial Tidy Towns program garnering Appleton wins in 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2016.

The Multi-Materials Stewardship Board was established in 1996 to support and promote sustainable waste management through the development and implementation of public education and waste diversion programs.

On a scale of 1-10, how likely are you to recommend The Telegram?

Recent Stories