Top News

Four enter baseball Hall of Fame

Thinkstock images

Baseball Newfoundland and Labrador inducted four athletes into its Hall of Fame during its annual general meeting in Gander.

The newest inductees are Ian Bennett of St. John’s, Peter Butler of Gander, Barry Manuel of Grand Falls-Windsor and Frank Humber of Corner Brook.

The association also handed out its annual awards. The winners were:

Minor male player of the year — Andrew Flood (Corner Brook)

Minor female player of the year — Jaida Lee (St. John’s)

Minor coach of the year — Mark Healy (St. John’s)

Minor umpire of the year — Andrew Paul (St. John’s)

Senior/junior player of the year — Andrew Paul (St. John’s)

Senior/junior coach of the year — Sean Gulliver (St. John’s)

Senior/junior umpire of the year — Peter Keough (St. John’s)

Les Noseworthy Memorial Award — Michelle Healy (St. John’s)

The Baseball NL executive for the 2018-2019 year is:

President — Kevin Legge

Vice-president — Kevin McCarthy

Treasurer — Joe Fowler

Eastern director — Kristyn Coley

Central director — David Janes

Western director — Darrin O’Quinn

Minor chairman — Kevin Higgins

Assistant minor chairman — Paul Briffett

Senior Chairman — Nick Mercer

Director of female baseball — Mark Healy

Coaching chairman — Greg Williams (appointed)

Umpire supervisor — Mark Jones (appointed)

Recent Stories