Top News

Four entering St. John’s Baseball Hall of Fame tonight

Baseball season

Dick Collins, Bernie Davis, Sean Gulliver, Mario Tee being inducted

The St. John’s Baseball Hall of Fame is adding four new members — three players and a builder — tonight

Players Derek (Dick) Collins, Sean Gulliver and Mario Tee and builder Bernie Davis will be inducted during a ceremony at St. John’s City Hall.

Collins was a workhorse pitcher who competed for 20 years in the St. John’s Baseball League with Mount Pearl, Feildians, Gonzaga and Shamrocks.

Part of several city title winners, the righthander was also a fixture for a decade on St. John’s Caps team in senior men’s provincial championships.

Gulliver played for an amazing 36 years for Shamrocks, amassing 20 St. John’s league titles along the way.

Besides being a mainstay on St. John’s Caps teams, Gulliver also has been a longtime coach for St. John’s teams in provincial and national competitions, with two dozen all-Newfoundland championships in the junior and senior ranks.

Tee’s career was shortened by injury, but not before the righthand pitcher had helped Shamrocks to four St. John’s senior crowns.

Another key player on Caps entries in provincial championships, Tee also can claim to be one of two pitchers to throw a perfect game in the St. John’s senior league. The other was Bill Harris, who performed the feat seven decades ago.

Davis began as a player with Guards then moved to coaching the Guardsmen and the St. John’s Caps at the junior and senior levels.

Davis, recently elected to his second term as Liberal MHA for Virginia Waters-Pleasantville, was also active as an executive in the St. John’s league, beginning as treasurer and eventually becoming president, with much of his focus on gaining improvements to St. Pat’s Ball Park, home to the St. John’s junior and senior leagues.

Recent Stories