Top News

Scott Goosney named St. John’s senior baseball MVP

Scott Goosney picked up three honours as the St. John’s Amateur Baseball Association announced its award-winners for the 2015 season.

The Pasadena-born pitcher was chosen as the St. John’s Molson senior circuit’s regular-season MVP and its top pitcher, having led the league in wins (7) and strikeouts (39). He was also named the recipient of the Art Hurley Memorial Award as MVP of the St. John’s Winmar Senior Capitals.

Goosney’s coach, Sean Gulliver, received the Fong Dowden Memorial Award for passion and commitment to baseball as well as the first Edgar Hartery Memorial Award.

Another triple honoree was the Gonzaga Roebothan McKay Marshall Vikings’ Gary Dymond, who won the Paul Whelan Memorial Award as the league’s most sportsmanlike player (as voted by umpires), comeback player of the year honours and the senior league’s top catcher.


Other senior league awards

Gerald Facey Memorial Award (Unsung hero): Bob Parsons, Metro Property Management Knights

Joe Cheeseman Memorial Award (Sportsmanship and ability): Dave Penney, Shamrocks

Rookie of the year: Andrew Paul, Gonzaga

Top batter: Gerry Stone, Holy Cross Trinity Pub

Playoffs MVP: Gerald Butt, Gonzaga

Bob Kent Memorial Trophy (First place, regular season): Shamrocks (15-5)

Pat Hurley Memorial Award (Holy Cross MVP): Sean Janes and Gerry Stone

Offensive leaders

Walks: Brent Power, Shamrocks (14)

Hits: Gerald Butt, Gonzaga (26)

Doubles: Gerry Stone, Holy Cross (9)

Triples: Five players tied with 1

Home runs: Gerry Stone (2)

Stolen bases: Brent Power (11)

Runs: Scott Stockley, Shamrocks (15)

RBI: Gerry Stone (17)

OBP: Gerry Stone (.559)

SP: Gerry Stone (.780)

Defensive awards

Top infielder: Dave Buckingham Jr., Shamrocks

Top catcher: Gary Dymond, Gonzaga

Top outfielder: Bernie Madden, Gonzaga

Pitching leaders

Wins: Scott Goosney, Shamrocks (7)

Saves: Dan Phillips, Feildians (2)

ERA: Dan Phillips (1.13)

IP: Sean Janes, Holy Cross (55.0)


Intermediate league awards

Steve Phillips Memorial Award (St. John’s Junior Capitals MVP): Ryan Morgan, Storm

Randy Pittman Memorial Award (Sportsmanship and Dedication): Cody Colbert, Shamrocks

Rookie of the year: Matt Janes, Knights

Top pitcher: Scott Hynes, Gonzaga

Regular season MVP: Scott Hynes

Playoff MVP: Ryan Dooley, Shamrocks

Offensive leaders

Walks: Randy Reid, Knights (20)

Hits: Matt Janes (26)

Doubles: Tyler Hennessey, Storm (7)

Triples: Zach Noseworthy, Holy Cross (3)

Home runs: None

Stolen bases: Matt Janes (17)

Runs: Matt Janes (26)

RBI: Redmond Hunt, Shamrocks (14)

OBP: Ryan Dooley (.640)

SP: Ryan Dooley (.619)

Top Batter: Ryan Dooley (.571)

Defensive awards

Top infielder: Parker Gulliver, Shamrocks

Top catcher: Redmond Hunt

Top outfielder: Cody Colbert

Pitching leaders

Wins: Scott Hynes (7)

Saves: Three tied with 1

ERA: Randy Reid (1.68)

K: Scott Hynes (39)

IP: Scott Hynes (58.2)



Did this story inform or enhance your perspective on this subject?
1 being least likely, and 10 being most likely

Recent Stories