Top News

Shamrocks are St. John's senior champions

The OMT Shamrocks are the 2016 St. John’s Molson senior baseball champions after defeating the two-time defending champion RMM Gonzaga Vikings in walk-off fashion Thursday night at St. Pat’s Ball Park.

The Shamrocks took the best-of-seven final 4-2.

Jay Warford’s one-out single to centrefield in the bottom of the seventh inning scored Greg Barry from second base with the winning run and completed a Shammies comeback. The Green and Gold had trailed 3-1 before scoring twice in the sixth inning.

Scott Goosney (8H, 3W, 7K) got the complete-game win, while Vikings reliever Kieran Buckingham (0.1IP, 2H, 1R, 1W, 1K) took the loss. Gonzaga’s starter was Matt Peterson (5IP, 5H, 3R, 1WK, 1K), while Dave Lahey pitched a scoreless inning in relief.

Warford had two hits and two RBIs., while Matt Parsons drove in two runs for the Vikings. Gary Dymond had two hits for Gonzaga.


Recent St. John’s senior baseball champions


2016, Shamrocks

2015, Gonzaga

2014, Gonzaga

2013, Shamrocks

2012, Holy Cross

2011, Shamrocks

2010, Holy Cross

2009, Storm

2008, Gonzaga

2007, Holy Cross

2006, Shamrocks

2005, Shamrocks

2004, Shamrocks

2003, Shamrocks

2002, Guards

2001, Gonzaga


Recent Stories