Top News

Hockey NL starts its AGM today in Gander

Hockey NL

Hall of Fame inductions being held Saturday night

Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador will be staging its annual general meeting and election of officers starting tonight in Gander, and one of the highlights of the weekend will be the awards presentation and Hall of Fame inductions Saturday night.

The new Hall of Famers are athletes Sheldon Currie, Pat Dempsey, Harold Druken, Bob O’Neill and builder Declan “Dec” Lacour.

Among the annual awards to be presented are the President’s Award, Ray Bowe Award, Female Promotional Award, Joe Byrne Development Honor Roll Award, Charlie McCarthy Memorial Award, Ron Healey Memorial Award and Meritorious Awards.

Jack Lee of Petty Harbour is the current president, but will be challenged for the top job by current vice-president Murray Roberts of Botwood.

Recent Stories