Top News

Three national ball hockey championships begin in Conception Bay South today

Play begins in Conception Bay South this morning in the Canadian Ball Hockey Associations’ (CBHA) national men’s B, C and D championships.

There are entries from British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador in the tournaments, with five from the host province overall.
The St. John’s Thunder and Pop’s Pride are the Newfoundland entries in the five-team B event; the Gros Morne Wildlife Gulls and JSM Electrical are among six teams in the C event; and the Eat Clean Wild are one of a half dozen entrants chasing down the D title.
Competition begins 10:30 a.m. at the new C.B.S. Stadium, while the Robert French Memorial Arena is also being used in the championships.
Round-robin play will continue Friday and Saturday, with semifinals Saturday afternoon and evening leading to medal games on Sunday.
Games from the C.B.S. Arena are being live-streamed by Bell TV1.

Recent Stories