Top News

CORRECTION: Locals won national titles with Acadia

A story in the Saturday, March 23 edition of The Telegram stated Tyler Boland of St. John’s became the seventh hockey player from this province to win a Canadian university championship when he accomplished the feat with the UNB Varsity Reds last week, joining Dustin Russell (St. Francis Xavier, 2004), Andrew White, Scott Brophy and Patrick O’Keefe (Saint Mary’s, 2010), Dan LaCosta (UNB, 2013) and Alex Wall (UNB, 2016). In 1996, the national champion Acadia Axemen featured four Newfoundlanders on that squad — Brian Casey of Grand Falls-Windsor, Marcel Billard of Mount Pearl, Doug Reynolds of St. John's and Jamie Watts of Corner Brook. The Telegram regrets the error.

Recent Stories