Top News

Finalists named for provincial awards

Sport NL Stars and Legends
Sport NL Stars and Legends - Contributed

The finalists for Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s provincial awards for 2018 have been announced.

The awards will be presented during the 2019 Stars and Legends Awards Gala slated for April 27 at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s. In addition to the awards, five new inductees will be enshrined into the Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Hall of Fame that evening.

The annual awards program recognizes the senior and junior male and female athletes of the year, team of the year, coach of the year, executive of the year, official of the year and volunteer of the year.

Three finalists from each category, with the exception of volunteer of the year, have been selected by Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s selection committee.

The finalists are:

Junior Female Athlete of the Year Award

Maggie Connors (Hockey)

Shae LeDevehat (Athletics)

Kate Sullivan (Swimming)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award

Brent Broaders (Ball Hockey, Ice Hockey)

Campbell Clarke (Rugby)

Noah Cumby (Swimming)

Volunteer of the Year Award

Finton Gaudette (Volleyball)

Michelle Healy (Baseball)

Maria Mackey (Soccer)

Executive of the Year Award

Judi Kelloway (Soccer)

David Liverman (Cricket, Skating, Soccer)

Gerry Rideout (Cross Country Ski)

Coach of the Year Award

Trevor Budgell (Ball Hockey, Ice Hockey)

Kyle Murphy (Gymnastics)

Jake Stanford (Soccer)

Official of the Year Award

Joan Butler (Swimming)

Ryan Langdon (Basketball)

Bruce Watson (Golf)

Team of the Year Award

Galway Hitmen (Softball)

Holy Cross (Soccer)

Team Gushue (Curling)

U18 Rock (Rugby)

Senior Male Athlete of the Year Award

Liam Hickey (Sledge hockey, Basketball, ParaSport)

Jason Hill (Softball)

Patrick Parfrey (Rugby)

Senior Female Athlete of the Year Award

Jenna Connolly (Softball)

Teri Murphy (Soccer)

Sydney Stewart (Basketball)

Recent Stories