Top News

Mount Pearl announces finalists for year’s best

The Mount Pearl Athletic Awards Selection Committee has announced the finalists for the 2018 awards, to be presented as part of the Sports Hall of Fame & Annual Athletic Awards ceremony Jan. 25 at the Reid Community Centre.

Molson Coors is the major sponsor for this event, and joined by event sponsors Browning Harvey, Eastern Audio and Newfoundland Power. Youth and junior awards will be announced in May as part of the Mount Pearl Focus on Youth Awards.

Tickets to the Hall of Fame and awards event are $25 single, and are available at the Sport Alliance office (748-6489,

Selection committee members are chairman Wayne Andrews, Don Kelly, Gary Martin, Roy Locke, Tammy Lahey and Karen Martin.

Finalists for the awards are:

Female athlete of the year

Brittany Antle (softball)

Chantal Barnes (track & field)

Male athlete of the year

James O’Brien (ball hockey/ice hockey)

Levi Moulton (track & field)

Terry Ryan Jr. (ball hockey)

Coach of the year

Margaret Tibbo (Para sport/track & field

Rudy Norman (soccer)

Executive of the year ‘Peter Halliday Memorial Award’

Julia Howard (Pearlgate Track & Field Club)

Perry Dalton (Mount Pearl/Paradise Skating Club)

Robert Hayes (Mount Pearl Soccer Association)

Team of the year

2017-2018 Mount Pearl Junior Blades hockey team

Recent Stories