Top News

Provincial skaters selected for Skate Canada Challenge

Thinkstock images

Eleven skaters from Newfoundland and Labrador will represent the province at the Skate Canada Challenge scheduled for Nov. 28-Dec. 2 in Edmonton.

The provincial  squad was selected following the 2019 Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Sectional championship this past weekend at The Glacier in Mount Pearl.

Named to the provincial squad are:

Pre-novice women — Rebecca Bennett (Corner Brook Silver Blades SC)

Novice women — McKenna Mercer (Mount Pearl-Paradise SC)

Junior women — Hannah Robertson (Stephenville Skating Club)

Novice women — Caylie Rose Blake (Corner Brook Silver Blades SC); Hayley Dalton (C.B.S. SC)

Pre-novice women — Abby Pace and Katie Slaney (Mount Pearl-Paradise SC)

Pre-novice dance — Brooklyn Watkins and Riley Jerrett (Botwood Seaport SC); Norah Levesque Morrisette, James Levesque Morrisette (Labrador City Polaris SC)

The Sectional Merit Award for the most outstanding performance in Mount Pearl went to Abby Pace of the Mount Pearl-Paradise Skating Club.

The Polaris Artistic Cup for the most artistic performance went to Lillian Evans from the Prince of Wales SC in St. John’s.

Over 500 skaters from across Canada will participate in the 2019 Skate Canada Challenge. Skaters qualified to compete through their respective sectional championships, which identify the top skaters in each province for advancement to the next round of qualifying events, ultimately leading to the Canadian figure skating championship.

Recent Stories