Top News

They sparkled on the diamond: Softball NL inducting eight into Hall of Fame next week


Provincial association will also be saluting its best of 2018 at awards ceremony in St. John's

Softball Newfoundland and Labrador will be honoring its top performers for 2018, and eight former greats who are destined for the Hall of Fame at its awards presentation and induction ceremony 7:30 p.m. April 12 at GlenDenning Golf in St. John’s.

In addition, the 2018 national senior men’s champions Galway Hitmen will be recognized, along with Joe Devereaux, the latest Canadian Indicator Club umpiring recipient.

The eight new Hall of Fame inductees are Joe Fagan, John Farrell, Harold Kelly, Len Wakeham and Sean Whitten (athlete categories), Bas Whelan (athlete/builder), Bob Gulliver (umpire) and Wally Layman (builder).

The association’s 2018 award winners include the following:

Dave Connors (minor coach of the year), Jeff Kirk (adult coach of the year), Emily Hawco and John Webber (minor players of the year), Abigail Gambin and Eric Healey (junior players of the year), Jenna Connolly and Jason Hill (senior players of the year), Brady Hanlon (junior umpire of the year — Len King Memorial Award) and Wayne (Hughie) Clarke (umpire of the year and Bob Whelan Memorial Award winner).

Devereaux, from Conception Bay South, is one of 29 umpires from across Canada who were selected for induction into the 2019 class of the Canadian Indicator Club, the sixth umpire from Newfoundland and Labrador to win the honour.

The Hitmen will also be honoured after winning the 2018 Canadian senior men’s fastpitch championship in St. Croix, N.S. The Hitmen went a perfect 9-0 and outscored the opposition 68-2.

Members of the Galway gold medal team are Ryan Boland, Shane Boland, Sean Cleary, Daniel Dalton, Blair Ezekiel, Brad Ezekiel, Kyle Ezekiel, Jason Hill, Peter Kavanagh, Sheldon Keough, Ryan Kirk, Stephen Mullaley, Jeremy O’Reilly, Nick Pittman, Jordan Pomeroy, Mathieu Roy, Colin Walsh, batboy Luke Newton, coaches Les Howey, Mark Dwyer, Eddy McDonald, Sean Cadigan and Brian Roche, and general manager/sponsor Danny Williams.

Recent Stories