Top News

NL Soccer association names annual award winners

.. - Thinkstock images

Jessie Noseworthy, Alex Pretty, Sydney Walsh, Jacob Grant named players of the year

The Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association has announced the winners of the organizations annual awards, which recognize outstanding players, coaches, teams and volunteers.

The awards will be formally presented April 5 as part of the NLSA’s Hall of Fame induction ceremonies at the Shriner’s Club in St. John’s.

The 2017 NLSA award winners (with their teams, where applicable):

Junior female (Judi Kelloway Award) – Sydney Walsh, U-18 Provincial Team, Memorial University Seahawks, Kirby United

Junior male (George Innes Award) – Jacob Grant, U-18 Provincial Team, Holy Cross Kirby Group

Senior female (Laura Breen Award) – Jessie Noseworthy, Holy Cross Avalon Ford, Memorial University Seahawks

Senior male (Brian Murphy Award) – Alex Pretty, Holy Cross Kirby Group, Memorial University Seahawks

Team of the year (Angus Barrett Award) – Holy Cross Avalon Ford (Jubilee Trophy)

Coach of the year (Doug Sweetapple Award) – Jeremy Babstock, Holy Cross Kirby Group

Executive of the year (Ben Lake Award) – Brian Rice, Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s Soccer Association

Volunteer of the year (Doug Redmond Award) – Don Coombs, Conception Bay North Soccer Association

Referee of the year (Ross Arlett Award) – Dave Pitman

Recent Stories