Top News

Paradise joining Challenge Cup this season

['NLSA logo']
['NLSA logo']

Corner Brook won’t be back, but the Molson-Coors Challenge Cup provincial senior men’s soccer league will still have six full-time members next season.

A team from Paradise is joining the Challenge Cup circuit, with defending champion Holy Cross, St. Lawrence, Mount Pearl, Feildians and Conception Bay South all returning.

The Challenge Cup lineup was one of the revelations coming out of the recently-completed spring meetings of the Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Association.

Here are some of the others:

• The Challenge Cup regular season will start May 27.  Mount Pearl will host the championship weekend Aug. 31-Sept. 2

 • Five teams are confirmed for the Breen Jubilee Trophy senior women’s league, including defending champion and national bronze-medallist Holy Cross, Kirby United, Mount Pearl and the St. John’s girls under-17 team, which will competing on an exhibition basis

• Jubilee Trophy play will also begin May 27, with the championship set for late August.

• Full 2018 schedules for the Challenge Cup, Jubilee Trophy and provincial youth leagues will be released in the coming weeks

The spring meetings also saw NLSA’s annual general meetings and election of officers.

Four senior executives were returned by acclamation, including president Doug Redmond, vice-president (youth) Judi Kelloway, and secretary Ron O’Neill, who will all serve two-year terms; and voice-president (senior men) Damian Masterson, who will serve a one-year term.

New regional directors were also appointed to two-year terms including Bernie Manning (St. John’s), Mark Pittman (Burin Peninsula), Terry Goulding (Central), Gloria Pike (Labrador West), and Ian Chaytor.

Twitter: @telysports

Recent Stories