Top News

St. John's Junior Hockey League hands out hardware


Breakers’ Liam Hynes named MVP as league reveals 2017-18 award winners

The Mount Pearl Blades, CBR Renegades and Southern Shore Breakers were the top three teams in the 2017-18 St. John’s Junior Hockey League, so it shouldn’t be any surprise to find the names of players from those teams all through the list of league award-winners announced Thursday night.

Liam Hynes of the Breakers picked up three trophies as the regular-season MVP, most dedicated and committed player and for leading the league in scoring.

Liam Hynes
Liam Hynes

The Blades, who lost only two regular-season games, finished in first place and followed up with a playoff run that saw them go 11-1, downing CBR in the final and taking the Presidents Cup. As a result, Mount Pearl will represent Newfoundland and Labrador at the 2018 Don Johnson Cup Atlantic junior B championship, beginning next week in Membertou (Cape Breton), N.S.

Here are the 2017-18 St. John’s Junior Hockey League award-winners announced Thursday night:

• Regular-season MVP (John M. Tobin Trophy): Liam Hynes, Southern Shore Junior Breakers

• Top defenceman (Justin “Barney” Goodland Trophy): Tyler Hennessey, CBR Renegades

• Top goaltender (Kirkland/Balsam Trophy): (Tie) Brandon Short, Mount Pearl Blades and Redmond Hunt, St. John’s Caps

• Rookie of the year: (Gary “Squid” Connolly Memorial Trophy): Ryan Ricketts, Northeast Eagles

• Most gentlemanly and effective player (Clyde Green Memorial Trophy): Blake Fudge, CBR Renegades

• Most underrated player (Bill’s Cycle & Sports Trophy):  Bobby Upshall, Mount Pearl Blades

• Most improved player (Bill Cycle & Sports Trophy): Colin O’Neill, Mount Pearl Blades

• Most dedicated and committed (Car Fix Trophy): Liam Hynes, Southern Shore Breakers

• Top coach (Danny Campbellton Trophy): Dale Sullivan, Southern Shore Breakers

• Award of Excellence/Gerry Taylor Trophy (player best combining academics and hockey): Liam Mahar, St. John’s Caps

• Most player of the game awards (Bill Strickland Trophy): Blake Fudge, CBR Renegades; Josh Langmead, Northeast Junior Eagles; Redmond Hunt, St John’s Caps; Aaron Small, Avalon Capitals (four each)

• Lowest goals-against average (Geffrey C Carnell Trophy): Mitch Rodgers and Brandon Short, Mount Pearl Blades

• Most points (Sherwood Trophy): Liam Hynes, Southern Shore Breakers

• Most goals: (Air Liquide Trophy): Blake Dalton, Southern Shore Breakers

• All-star game winners (Slaney-Norris Trophy): Bay Division (TP Flyers, CBN Stars, Southern Shore Breakers, CBR Renegades)

• First place overall regular season (Co-Operators Cup): Mount Pearl Blades

• League championship (Presidents Cup): Mount Pearl Blades

• All-star team: Goaltender — Brandon Short, Mount Pearl; Defencemen — Daniel Alyward, Southern Shore; James O’Brien, Mount Pearl; Forwards — Liam Hynes, Southern Shore; Lucas Lush, CBR; Blake Dalton, Southern Shore

Recent Stories